• Heather Watson and Harriet Dart have to withdraw through injury
  • Singles Line-up – Premier Division & Division 1
  • Doubles
  • Everything you need to know about the tournament
LONDON, UK – The Progress Tour Women’s Championships starts on Tuesday and we have everything you need to know to follow the action live


-Latest player gear | Pro:Direct Tennis Shop-

Buy the latest gear from the top players from the Pro:Direct Tennis Shop and check out their range of Players’ kits

Buy the latest gear from the top players from the Pro:Direct Tennis Shop and check out their range of Players’ kits.
Click to buy via Britwatch Sports


Who is playing?

Sadly injuries saw Heather Watson and Harriet Dart pull out on the eve of the tournament, but there will still be a lot of action to savour.

Embed from Getty Images

Top seed Watson suffered a foot injury last week and explained: “It happened last week and has been getting worse and worse. I have pain simply walking so I’m taking it very seriously.  I won’t be playing tennis at all for at least the next three days and will see how it’s healing.  It’s such a shame because I was playing really well heading into this event and was excited to compete again.”

Embed from Getty Images

Dart is suffering from a groin issue, that has not healed enough to compete, and she said: “I was really looking forward to competing again but unfortunately after training today I realised that I’m not quite ready due to a groin issue.  I hope everyone really enjoys the event and even though I can’t play I’ll definitely be watching on TV.”


Premier Division

Embed from Getty Images

Group Elena Baltacha

  • Katie Swan [WC]
  • Freya Christie
  • Alicia Barnett
  • Maia Lumsden


Group Anne Keothavong

  • Jodie Burrage
  • Alice Gillan
  • Eden Silva
  • Katie Boulter


Division 1

Group Sam Smith

  • Victoria Allen
  • Erin Richardson
  • Olivia Nicholls
  • Danielle Daley


Group Annabel Croft

  • Emily Arbuthnott
  • Sasha Hill
  • Amelia Bissett
  • Nell Miller



Group Jo Durie

  • Burrage/Christie
  • Anane/Griffin
  • Annabel Davis/Sally Pethybridge
  • Esther Adeshina/Sonay Kartal


Group Virginia Wade

  • Barnett/Nicholls
  • Daley/Miller
  • Allen/Hill
  • Arbuthnott/Anna Popescu


What is the Progress Tour Women’s Championships?

Embed from Getty Images

The Progress Tour Women’s Championships is a women’s singles and doubles event that will be held at the LTA’s National Tennis with 16 British WTA singles competitors and the top 8 British women’s doubles teams will compete.

The event boasts a prize money pool of £30,000 and is the result of a collaboration between WTA-ranked British players Olivia Nicholls and Alicia Barnett, long-term women’s tennis supporter Terry Oakes, and former ATP ranked player and now tournament director of The Progress Tour, Barry Fulcher.

Ahead of the tournament, Barnet and Nicholls explained how the tournament came about.

Barnett said: “Originally Barry had reached out in the past, just asking for players’ feedback in regards to his tournaments in general and then over lockdown he suggested that he was hopefully going to get some tournaments back after lockdown had eased, and just asked us for some input.

Nicholls continued: “When Jamie Murray did his event, we basically wanted to try and get something similar for the girls. Then there was a private sponsor Terry Oakes who was keen to contribute some money to try and make the event happen and so we instrumental in making it happen.

“We approached Barry because he had a lot of involvement in directing Progress Tour events so I knew he would be able to do a great job in directing the event. That’s how we came together. Just been involved with Barry to try and organise things. He’s been the main guy doing everything.”


What else is going on?

The popular Tie Break Tens format will also be a part of the Progress Tour Women’s Championships, running on Friday 17 July.


Order of Play Day 1

  Court 1 11:00 Court 2 11:00 Court 3 11:00
1 Emily Arbuthnott v Amelia Bisset Jodie Burrage v Eden Silva Nell Miller v Sasha Hill
2 Danielle Daley v Erin Richardson Freya Christie v Maia Lumsden Victoria Allen v Olivia Nicholls
3 Arbuthnott/Popescu v Daley Miller Katie Swan v Alicia Barnett Adheshina/Kartel v Anane/Griffin
4   Alice Gillan v Katie Boulter Burrage/Christie v Davis/Pethybridge
5 Barnett/Nicholls v Allen/Hill    



How to watch the Progress Tour Women’s Championships live

Matches will be live across LTA channels and will also be broadcast on the BBC’s digital platforms between 14-18 July, with play starting at 11am (BST).


-Connected Clubs-

Shop at Connected Clubs for a vast range in tennis equipment and training aids to help improve your tennis.

Shop at Connected Clubs for a vast range in tennis equipment and training aids to help improve your tennis.
Click to buy via Britwatch Sports


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.