By Ros Satar

  • The ninth edition of the Rugby World Cup starts in Japan this week
  • Six weeks of World Cup Rugby will end in November
  • How to watch the Rugby World Cup
JAPAN – Get ready for some early starts as the ninth Rugby World Cup starts in Japan, and we have you covered with how to watch and follow.


-Get the absolute best in sports nutrition supplements-

Head on over to The Protein Works for a huge range of premium quality supplements to help you achieve your fitness goals

Head on over to The Protein Works for a huge range of premium quality sports nutrition supplements, protein powder and whey protein to help you achieve your fitness goals
Click to buy via Britwatch Sports


When does the Rugby World Cup take place?

The opening match of the 2019 Rugby World Cup starts on Friday 20 September with the group stage matches being played out until 13 October. The quarter-finals take place between 13-20 October, and the semi-finals 26-27 October. The third place play-off is 1 November, and the final is on 2 November.


Which countries are competing?

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Ireland New Zealand England Australia
Scotland South Africa France Wales
Japan Italy Argentina Georgia
Russia Namibia USA Fiji
Samoa Canada Tonga Uruguay


How does it all work?

The group stages sees the 20 teams try and fight their way out of the Pools. Five teams in each, but only two from each group can advance to the knock-out stages.

England finds itself in a tricky group, together with France and Argentina so expect a potential shock exit for one of the great rugby nations.


How to watch the Rugby World Cup 2019

Good news for UK viewers – it is on terrestrial TV throughout, not just this year but also for the 2023 edition in France. Most of the matches will be on the main ITV channel with 10 matches being shown on ITV4.


Fixture list, Kick-off Times and Channel Guide

Pool A
20 Sept Japan v Russia Tokyo 11:45 ITV
22 Sept Ireland v Scotland Yokohama 08:45 ITV
24 Sept Russia v Samoa Kumagaya 11:15 ITV 4
28 Sept Japan v Ireland Shizuoka 08:15 ITV
30 Sept Scotland v Samoa Kobe 11:15 ITV
3 Oct Ireland v Russia Kobe 11:15 ITV
5 Oct Japan v Samoa Toyota City 11:30 ITV
9 Oct Scotland v Russia Shizuoka 08:15 ITV
12 Oct Ireland v Samoa Fukuoka 11:45 ITV
13 Oct Japan v Scotland Yokohama 11:45 ITV
Pool B
21 Sept New Zealand v South Africa Yokohama 10:45 ITV
22 Sept Italy v Namibia Osaka 06:15 ITV
26 Sept Italy v Canada Fukuoka 08:45 ITV 4
28 Sept South Africa v Namibia Toyota City 10:45 ITV
2 Oct New Zealand v Canada Oita 11:15 ITV 4
4 Oct South Africa v Italy Shizuoka 10:45 ITV 4
6 Oct New Zealand v Namibia Tokyo 05:45 ITV
8 Oct South Africa v Canada Kobe 11:15 ITV 4
12 Oct New Zealand v Italy Toyota City 05:45 ITV
13 Oct Namibia v Canada Kamaishi 04:15 ITV
Pool C
21 Sept France v Argentina Tokyo 08:15 ITV
22 Sept England v Tonga Sapporo 11:15 IYV
26 Sept England v USA Kobe 11:45 ITV
28 Sept Argentina v Tonga Higashiosaka 05:45 ITV
2 Oct France v USA Fukuoka 08:45 ITV 4
5 Oct England v Argentina Tokyo 09:00 ITV
6 Oct France v Tonga Kumamoto 08:45 ITV
9 Oct Argentina v USA Kumagaya 05:45 ITV 4
12 Oct England v France Yokohama 09:15 ITV
13 Oct USA v Tonga Higashiosaka 06:45 ITV
Pool D
21 Sept Australia v Fiji Sapporo 05:45 ITV
23 Sept Wales v Georgia Toyota City 11:15 ITV
25 Sept Fiji v Uruguay Kamaishi 06:15 ITV 4
29 Sept Australia v Wales Tokyo 08:45 ITV
3 Oct Georgia v Fiji Higashiosaka 06:15 ITV 4
5 Oct Australia v Uruguay Oita 06:15 ITV
9 Oct Wales v Fiji Oita 10:45 ITV
11 Oct Australia v Georgia Shizuoka 11:15 ITV 4
13 Oct Wales v Uruguay Kumamoto 09:15 ITV
Knock Out Stages
19-20 Oct Quarter-finals
26-27 Oct Semi-finals
1 Nov 3rd Place Play-off
2 Nov Final


 The Rugby World Cup takes place between 20 September – 2 November


-Shop at Amazon for Men’s and Women’s Sport Clothing – click to try Amazon Prime for free-


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.