Embed from Getty Images

By Thomas Dodd

  • Jarlinson Pantano takes stage 15 of Tour de France to Culoz
  • Colombian survives large break to give IAM Cycling first Tour win
  • Chris Froome comes home in Peloton to preserve 1m47 lead

CULOZ, FRANCE – Jarlinson Pantano claimed stage 15 of the Tour de France after surviving a thirty man break.

CLICK TO BUY Tour de France Gear

The Colombian outlasted Pole Rafal Majka on the run into Culoz after catching the Tinkoff rider on the descent of the hors categorie Col du Grand Colombier to take the first win for his IAM Cycling team.

Both were the only survivors from a thirty man breakaway on the 160km run from Bourg-en-Bresse.

A quiet day for the overall contenders saw no major change in the top ten, though BMC’s Tejay Van Garderen dropped two spots to eighth after losing 90 seconds to the main pack of pre-race favourites.

Frenchman Romain Bardet attempted to try and move further up in the standings with an attack on the Grand Colombier, but he was quickly hauled in by Team Sky as the wait for the home nation’s first stage win of 2016 goes on.

Pantano’s success was the first of the race for Colombia, and may provide inspiration for last year’s runner-up Nairo Quintana, who currently sits two minutes fifty-nine seconds down on the maillot jaune.

Briton’s Chris Froome still holds a 1m47 advantage over Bauke Mollema with six stages left to race.

The team Sky rider’s chief lieutenant Geraint Thomas lost five minutes to his overall time after suffering a mechanical break down on the final climb and was unable to pace himself back to the main field.

Monday will see the final opportunity for the sprinters before Paris, as the race heads out of France for the final time towards the Swiss capital Bern.

Stage 15 Result (Bourg-en-Bresse to Culoz 160km)

1. Jarlinson Pantano (COL) IAM Cycling 4h24minutes49seconds
2. Rafal Majka (POL) Tinkoff +00seconds
3. Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA) AG2R La Mondiale +06
4. Sebastian Reichenbach (SUI) FDJ +06
5. Julian Alaphillippe (FRA) Etixx-QuickStep +22
6. Serge Pouwels (BEL) Dimension Data +25
7. Pierre Rolland (FRA) Direct Energie +25
8. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS) Katusha +1m30
9. Daniel Navarro (ESP) Cofidis +1m30
10. Tom Jelte Slagter (HOL) Cannondale +2m08


14. Chris Froome, Sky +3m07seconds
21. Adam Yates, Orica +3m07
33. Geraint Thomas, Sky +9m06
135. Luke Rowe, Sky +28m07
136. Ian Stannard, Sky +28m07
154. Mark Cavendish, Dimension Data +29m10
164. Stephen Cummings, Dimension Data +29m10
183. Daniel McLay, Fortuneo +31m45

Overall Standings (After Stage 15):

1. Chris Froome (GBR) Sky 68h14m36seconds
2. Bauke Mollema (HOL) Trek-Segafredo +1m47
3. Adam Yates (GBR) Orica +2m45
4. Nairo Quintana (COL) Movistar +2m59
5. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Movistar +3m17
6. Romain Bardet (FRA) AG2R +4m04
7. Richie Porte (NZ) BMC Racing +4m27
8. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing +4m47
9. Dan Martin (IRE) Etixx-QuickStep +5m03
10. Fabio Aru (ITA) Astana +5m16


17. Geraint Thomas, Sky +12m47
135. Stephen Cummings, Dimension Data +2h35m12
164. Mark Cavendish, Dimension Data +2h51m27
169. Luke Rowe, Sky +2h52m45
175. Ian Stannard, Sky +2h56m29
177. Daniel McLay, Fortuneo +2h58m02

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.