By Ros Satar

  • Defending champion Andy Murray and British women’s No. 1 Johanna Konta lead four-strong team
  • Heather Watson and Jamie Murray also named

UK – Olympic Tennis defending champion Andy Murray leads a four-strong tennis squad for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

As expected the two British No. 1s will spearhead Britain’s tennis hopes, with Murray joined by older brother Jamie Murray, Heather Watson and Johanna Konta.

The younger Murray played his part in a great Olympic gold medal haul, following the Super Saturday at the track with the Olympic gold, and a stunning straight sets win over Roger Federer, just a couple of weeks after his painful defeat in the Wimbledon final.

As reported in BBC Sport, he said: “Playing for Team GB during London 2012 gave me some of the best memories I have in sport.

“Being a home Olympic Games, it was such a special occasion and the atmosphere at Wimbledon was like nothing I have ever experienced.Winning medals for your country is as good as it gets and I can’t wait to get to Rio to try and win more medals.”

With brother Jamie claiming his first Slam title in the men’s doubles with partner Bruno Soares at the start of the year, on his way to reaching the World Doubles No. 1 ranking, their partnership could well be one of the favourites going into Rio for a medal, after last year’s run to Davis Cup title.

The Murray brothers will be competing in their third Olympic games, while for Heather Watson, it is her second appearance, having confessed to have been obsessed with getting her rank up enough to make the qualification.

The experience, however, will be brand new for the British No. 1 Konta, who broke the Top 20 this week for the first time. The World No. 18 told the BBC:

“It’s such an honour to have the rare opportunity to represent my country in an Olympic Games. I’m looking forward to doing my part for Team GB and supporting my team-mates across all the sports.”

The Rio 2016 Olympic Games will take place between 5-21 August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.