By Thomas Dodd

  • Orica Bike Exchange rider Michael Matthews wins stage ten of race
  • Win is first for Australian in Tour career
  • Wednesday likely to provide sprinters’ with first chance to win since Montauban last Thursday

CARCASSONNE, FRANCE – Australian Michael Matthews claimed his first ever stage win in the Tour de France by sprinting away from a breakaway to win in Revel.

The victory marked the first for Australia in this year’s race, as a relatively quiet day for the main contenders saw no change at the top of the overall standings.

After a rest day in the principality of Andorra, the race returned to French roads, and despite leaving the very high mountains the stage was set up perfectly for a large breakaway to contest the win.

Matthews out-muscled a select group of riders who finished out front, including Slovakian sprinter Peter Sagan and former 2016 race leader and stage winner Greg van Avermaet, to claim his first stage win at the Tour.

Success at the day’s intermediate sprint points were however enough for Sagan to take over ownership of the race’s green jersey – which had been held by Britain’s Mark Cavendish for the last few days.

There was no change in the top ten of the overall classification, as the pre-race favourites all finished together nearly ten minutes after the escapees.

With the Pyrenees now in the rear view mirrors, the riders will now head north east towards the Alps and the Massif Central, though tomorrow’s transitional stage on the flat from Carcassonne to Montpellier is likely to provide the sprinters’ with their first chance at glory since stage six to Montauban last Thursday.

Stage 10 Result (Escales-Engordany to Revel 197km)

1. Michael Matthews (AUS) Orica BikeExchange 4h22m38seconds
2. Peter Sagan (SVK) Tinkoff +06seconds
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) Dimension Data +10
4. Greg Van Avermate (BEL) BMC Racing +10
5. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA) AG2R +10
6. Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica +12
7. Luke Durbridge (AUS) Orica +1m20
8. Damiano Caruso (ITA) BMC Racing +3m11
9. Gorka Izaguirre (ESP) Movistar +3m20
10. Tony Gallopin (FRA) Lotto Soudal +3m20


15. Stephen Cummings, Dimension Data +5m35seconds
20. Luke Rowe, Sky +9m39
22. Ian Stannard, Sky +9m39
25. Chris Froome, Sky +9m39
36. Geraint Thomas, Sky +9m39
43. Adam Yates, Orica +9m39
106. Mark Cavendish, Dimension Data +9m39
190. Daniel McLay, Fortuneo +11m38

Overall Standings (After Stage 10):

1. Chris Froome (GBR) Sky 49h08m20seconds
2. Adam Yates (GBR) Orica +16
3. Dan Martin (IRE) Etixx-QuickStep +19
4. Nairo Quintana (COL) Movistar +23
5. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP) Katusha +37
6. Romain Bardet (FRA) AG2R +44
7. Bauke Mollemea (HOL) Trek-Segafredo +44
8. Sergio Henao Montoya (COL) Sky +44
9. Louis Meintjes (RSA) Lampre +55
10. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Movistar +1m01


16. Geraint Thomas, Sky +3m20
129. Stephen Cummings, Dimension Data +1h39m05
155. Mark Cavendish, Dimension Data +1h49m35
167. Ian Stannard, Sky +1h52m32
170. Luke Rowe, Sky +1h53m09
184. Daniel McLay, Fortuneo +1h57m06

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.