By Britwatch Team

  • A guide to the Olympic Tennis event in Rio
  • Information on who can qualify for the games this Summer

There is less than 100 days to go until the 2016 Olympic games in Rio De Janeiro Brazil, and with the excitement building, here is a quick guide to the Tennis event.

How many players qualify?

56 players will qualify for the main draw as a direct acceptance into the event based on the world rankings on both tours on the 6th of June. Another six places will be decided via ITF qualifications, and two Tripartite Commission Invitation places will complete the 64 person draw.

In the men’s and women’s doubles, 24 teams will get direct entry into the competition with eight more ITF places to complete the 32 person draw. The mixed doubles is a 16 person draw with 12 direct acceptances and a further four ITF places.

How many players from one country can compete?

A maximum of six men and six women can compete from the same country in the Rio Olympics. There can be no more than four players in each of the men’s and women’s singles and two teams in each of the men’s doubles and women’s doubles events.

Any eligibility conditions?

All players must have a good standing with their National Association and meet the eligibility conditions for the Davis Cup and the Fed Cup. Nations can appeal to the ITF Olympic committee over eligibility and any outstanding entries as a result will be announced after the initial entry list on June 30th.


When do we find out who has qualified?

The rankings of the date of June 6th will determine who gets direct acceptance. The entry list will then be released on the 30th.

Where will the tournament take place?

There tournament will take place in the Olympics Tennis centre at the Barra Olympic Park. The will court will hold approximately 10,000 spectators, with two other courts able to house 5,000 and 3,000 spectators respectively. The playing  surface will be a hard court.

For more information about the ITF Olympic event see here.

The Olympic tennis event starts on Saturday the 6th of August and ends on Sunday the 14th of August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.